The Beat - reissue programme on Edsel Records

Download - The Beat - reissue programme on Edsel Records - Press Pack
The Beat - reissue programme on Edsel Records


The Beat was formed in Birmingham in 1978, with members Dave Wakeling (vocals, guitar), Ranking Roger (vocals, toasting), Andy Cox (guitar), Everett Morton (drums), veteran Jamaican saxophonist Saxa, and from the Isle of Wight, David Steele on bass. The band was part of the West Midlands ska revival scene that also produced The Specials and The Selecter, whilst London saw the formation of Madness and The Bodysnatchers.

The Beat’s first single was an arresting version of Smokey Robinson’s “Tears Of A Clown”, given a completely new feel, and was backed with their own composition “Ranking Full Stop”. Released in a one-off deal on Jerry Dammers’ Chrysalis-backed 2-Tone label, the single stormed into the Top 10 in December 1979, and saw the band appear twice on Top Of The Pops.

Backed by Arista, the band formed their own label Go-Feet Records, with its own distinctive art direction and design provided by Hunt Emerson. The first release in February 1980 was another Top 10 hit, “Hands Off... She’s Mine”, and was the first of twelve chart singles for the band on Go-Feet, a list that includes permanent favourites like “Mirror In The Bathroom”, “Too Nice To Talk To”, “Best Friend”, “All Out To Get You”, “Doors Of Your Heart”, “Save It For Later” (later covered by both The Who and Pearl Jam!), “Jeanette”, “I Confess” and their Top 3 hit cover of “Can’t Get Used To Losing You”.

The band released three albums “I Just Can’t Stop It” (1980, # 3), “Wha’ppen” (1981, # 3) and “Special Beat Service” (1982, # 21), which contained many tracks that demonstrated their more politicised and socially-conscious leanings in songs like “Stand Down Margaret”, “Get-A-Job”, “Big Shot” and “Click Click”. The band broke up in 1983, Dave Wakeling and Ranking Roger going on to form General Public, and Andy Cox and David Steele forming Fine Young Cannibals.

Edsel Records is proud to announce its reissue programme of all three albums, each in Deluxe 2 CD + DVD digipaks, released on 25th June. These feature the original albums along with all the non-album A- and B-sides, the many 12” mixes and live tracks, as well as the best of their BBC radio sessions from John Peel, Mike Read and David Jenson’s shows. The DVDs feature the singles promo videos, Top Of The Pops performances and bonus appearances from ITV shows and documentaries.

The booklets feature individual notes especially written by Rhoda Dakar of The Bodysnatchers along with the lyrics and photos, memorabilia and ephemera from the band’s own collection.

I Just Can’t Stop It [EDSG 8016]
19 bonus tracks, including nine previously unreleased BBC radio sessions
DVD features three promo videos, five TOTP appearances and a live performance recorded for ITV’s “Alright Now”.

Wha’ppen [EDSG 8017]
14 bonus tracks, including four previously unreleased BBC radio sessions
DVD features five promo videos, four TOTP appearances, and live performances and interviews from the “World In Action” documentary “A Statistic, A Reminder”.

Special Beat Service [EDSG 8018]
26 bonus tracks, including seven previously unreleased BBC radio sessions
DVD features two promo videos, two TOTP appearances, two songs from OTT and three songs and an interview from an outdoor Police concert, broadcast on The Tube.

For further information please contact Dave Clarke:

Phone: + 44 (0) 7966 557774