The Last Republic - Parade

Download - The Last Republic - Parade - Press Pack
The Last Republic - 'Parade'


The Last Republic are:

Aron Harris -  Drums and Percussion
David Llewellyn - Keyboards/ Synths/ Fx
Dafydd Anthony  -  Lead  Guitar/FX
Jon Owen -  Lead Vox /Rhythym  Guitar
Joey  Daniels - Bass Guitar  / Bass Synth

The Last Republic are many people’s tip to become the next big band to emerge from Wales. With soaring, bittersweet vocal melodies set against a sonic landscape of distorted grandeur, The Last Republic’s anthems for a generation and call-to-arms manifesto question the industrial illusion and the perceived progress of the modern world.

The Last Republic formed in 2008, after meeting at the infamous rock venue The Duke of Wellington in Neath, South Wales. After gigging their way around Wales’ and London’s club circuit, they forged a reputation as a ‘must see’ live act and soon scored their first big break after entering Virgin Media’s ‘The Road To V’ competition.

After weeks of TV coverage and seeing off competition from over 3500 bands, The Last Republic followed in the footsteps of The Young Knives and Bombay Bicycle Club to win the competition. Receiving 20,000 votes in the final, the band earned the right to play on The Main Stage at the V Festival alongside the likes of Oasis and The Killers in front of 10,000 people each day.

Despite overtures from the music industry’s old guard, The Last Republic opted to accept an attractive offer of specialist music business investment in order to remain independent. 

The band have received airplay from Radio 1 DJ’s Zane Lowe and Huw Stephens, been playlisted by XFM and awarded the ‘Record of The Week’ on NME Radio. In addition to playing a sold-out support show at London's O2 Arena, The Last Republic have supported The Charlatans and Placebo, toured with the inspirationally independent band The Levellers, completed their own five-week headline tour and performed at festivals across the UK and Europe.

The Last Republic recorded their debut album at the famous Monnow Valley Studio in Rockfield, Wales, with Chris Sheldon (Radiohead, Biffy Clyro, Foo Fighters) & Tom Manning (The Enemy, Broken Records, Feeder) during the winter of 2009/10. Entitled ‘Parade’, the album was mixed by Chris Sheldon, Andrew Scheps (U2, Metallica & The Mars Volta) and Dan Austin (The Doves, Cooper Temple Clause). It is scheduled for release on 1st November 2010.

The album's release is preceded by a UK tour which commences on 15th October 2010, and a new single, 'CCTV', on 25th October 2010.

“...speaking of the future, here are a band who have a big part in it.” – Zane Lowe – BBC Radio 1

“The Last Republic are making a name for themselves as purveyors of soaring epic anthems...Catchier than the clap and dressed sharper than razors, it's clear that The Last Republic have the proverbial 'bigger things' lined up squarely in their crosshairs.” – Huw Stephens, BBC Radio 1

“The Last Republic – a band whose potential for broad appeal is complimented with grand guitar riffs, beautiful soaring melodies and a healthy punch of attitude” – Kerrang! Radio

“The Last Republic have unbelievable vision.” - XFM (Manchester & London)